things my kid will listen to: do fun stuff

(First of all, has it really been almost a YEAR since I wrote one of these entries? Hoooooly jeez time flies!)

Addison likes Barney.

My child, my perfect little baby, likes that obnoxious purple behemoth. I feel ashamed when I say the words out loud. “Hi, my name is Adrianne, and my daughter loves to watch Barney the Purple Dinosaur. It has been 28 hours since her last viewing.”

For the record, we did NOT expose her to him. She picked him up at my dad’s house, where she stays with my step-mom and her two aunts (Samantha, 5, Sarah, 1) three days a week. One day I showed up and my dad said, “By the way, Addison loves Barney.”  I almost punched him in the mouth. Aaron was none too pleased when I broke the news at home and suggested we tell them she’s not allowed to watch it. But I reminded him that she’s watching Barney in a free, in-home, family-run, full of love and learning daycare that lets my kid grow up with her aunts and her abuelita and her papi, so we should just suck it up and let her watch the damned dinosaur. But we don’t have to be happy about it.

To that end, I have launched a campaign against her love of Barney. A little subversive counter-attack wherein I expose her to better, more clever, less obnoxious and more tolerable children’s music and programming. High on that list is Yo Gabba Gabba. (I will make a separate post about that little children’s programming gem on another day. It deserves plenty of attention.) Nilsson’s The Point was already on the list before she was even born.

Yesterday I added a brand new kids’ CD called “Do Fun Stuff“.

Backstory: I found out about this awesome blogger from my doula/friend/fellow babymama Leslee. Ryan lives in Florida, is super creative, so in love with his wife and an awesome photographer. He’s also stepdad to a cutie little boy that he calls LB, the Littlest Buddy, who just turned 6. LB got diagnosed with Smith-Magenis Syndrome (SMS) about 18 months ago while Ryan and his wife were expecting their first child together. As a way to fund research for SMS, to get some of his favorite artists together to make cool music, and possibly never hear the words, “I love you, you love me” sung again in his house, Ryan put together a kids’ album called “Do Fun Stuff.”

According to the PRISMS website, “100% of the proceeds from the sale of this album will be used to establish a SMS Research Fellowship that funds a graduate student to study SMS and support the SMS community.” I had been reading about the album for weeks now, and thought it was a cute idea, and toyed around with purchasing it, but hadn’t committed.  Yesterday, it finally hit me: “I am buying this album!”

So I did.  And it’s cute! So far, my favorites are “Nothing” by Steve Foxbury, “Morton the Caterpillar” by Davey Rocker and “Everything Will Be Okay” by Astronautalis. That last one doesn’t even sound like a kids’ song. I also like “Hooray, It’s My Birthday!” by Rabbit. You know I love a birthday…

I’ve only listened all the way through once, but I played “Morton the Caterpillar” in the car this morning for Samantha and she liked it. I played the album on the way home yesterday and Addison actually fell asleep while listening to the song “Sleep” by Rabbit. Not sure if that was all the song’s doing because I had just shoved her pacifier in her mouth, but surely the soothing music helped.

I highly recommend any parents out there with rockin’ little kids to buy this album! (ahem, Lori and Susanna) It’s a great buy, great music and a great cause. Plus, it’s a step in the right direction toward a world without Barney.  Do it for the kids.

2 responses to “things my kid will listen to: do fun stuff

  1. Adrianne, I am crying for you. I know how devastating it must be to find out that your child likes Barney. Please know that I am sending lots of prayers and loving thoughts your way during this very troubling time.

  2. I’m thinking of going to a support group.

Leave a Reply

