Baby Gear: What the heck do we need?

I’ve been working on setting up a registry at Babies-R-Us, and I’m

trying to register for things that are necessities. Obviously we need a crib, and we plan on co-sleeping for at least the first 3-4 months, so I’ve picked out a co-sleeper. Since space is at a premium at our house, I don’t want to go too crazy with baby gear, but I want to make sure I’m not having to run to the store every week grabbing something I decided we didn’t need and now find that we do.
For starters, I’m conflicted about the whole changing table thing. The baby’s room is also Aaron’s office, and it’s only 10′ x 10′ to begin with. Do we really need to cram a changing table in there, or will using the closest available surface work? And what about all the “gear”? I’ve heard from some people that a swing is a lifesaver, others say they are pointless.
So, mommies out there, what are your thoughts? What things do you think are necessities based on your experience, and what things can we cross of the “To Buy” list?
Leave a Reply

